Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
According to Carol Fischer Saller, an editor for the Chicago Manual of Style and author of The Subversive Copy Editor, effective editing is rooted in
Therefore, these principles should guide an editor's work.
Saller also notes that the primary objective of an editor's work is to preserve an author's voice while achieving
These elements are key to the craft of editing.
ACES: The Society for Editing
An international alliance of editors working in digital media, traditional print media, corporate communications, book publishing, academia, government, and beyond.
Editorial Freelancers Assocation
A society of freelance writers, editors, and translators that shares resources and organizes events to help freelancers in the book industry find jobs and succeed at them.
Large database of free customizable icons and stickers.
Free stock photos, royalty-free images, and videos shared by creators.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Published since 1906, this respected style guide prescribes writing and citation styles widely used in publishing. (University of Chicago Press)
Associated Press (AP) Stylebook Online
An American English grammar style and usage guide created by American journalists working for or connected with the Associated Press. (Associated Press)
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Comprehensive coverage on a variety of subjects including, arts, business, geography, history, literature, philosophy, politics, pop culture, science, sports, and more. (Britannica Digital Learning)
Authoritative factual information about our world - physical, historical, geographical, political, scientific, religious, and cultural. (Columbia University Press)
See the Credo Reference database for hundreds more encyclopedias.
Consumer friendly information on health conditions, drugs, wellness issues, and more.
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information.
Official web portal of the U.S. Government that provides easy access to a broad range of consumer information and services.
Resources for Condensing Content
General and scholarly articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. Choose "EbscoHost Web" to access the databases. Search all databases on the platform, or select only those pertinent to your research. (EBSCOhost)
General and scholarly articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. Search all databases on the platform, or choose individual databases
based on your research needs. (ProQuest)
Archival access to scholarly journal articles. Choose "Advanced Search" and search the entire platform, or browse journals by subject
, or publisher
Need to find a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper? Enter the title into Journal Finder to see whether our library provides access.
Finding Full-Text Articles
If search results indicate only an the citation and abstract for an article, there are several ways to find the full-text.
Books & eBooks
To find books and ebooks:
- Go to the library's home page.
- On the "Search" tool, choose the "Books/eBooks" tab.
- Enter your search terms.
You should see a list of search results showing books and ebooks held by the OBU Library.
On the sidebar, you may expand the results to include books and ebooks at the HSU Library and libraries worldwide.
ENGL 3383 Instructor
Phone: (870) 245-5125