Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Full-Text Articles: Methods

Learn how to find entire articles when search results provide only citations and abstracts.

Method for Residential Program Students and Faculty

Step 1 - Use Journal Finder to locate the article in an OBU library database. 
Click the Journal Finder icon on the article's citation/abstract page OR enter the journal title in Journal Finder to search all OBU library article databases.

 

Step 2 - Use Google Scholar, and if necessary, Google, to locate the article on the Web. 
If step 1 does not find the full-text of the article, go to Google Scholar and enter the article title to see whether the article is freely available on the Web.  If Google Scholar does not find it, try Google.

 

Step 3 - Search the HSU Library's journal index to locate the article at HSU. 
If step 2 does not find the full-text of the article, go to Henderson State University's online journal index and enter either the journal title or the journal's ISSN.  You must go to the HSU library to access HSU's journals. 

 

Step 4 - Use our Interlibrary Loan service to get the article from another library. 
If step 3 does not find the full-text of the article, submit an interlibrary loan request.

Method for Online and Hybrid Program Students and Faculty

Step 1 - Use Journal Finder to locate the article in an OBU library database. 
Click the Journal Finder icon on the article's citation/abstract page OR enter the journal title in Journal Finder to search all OBU library article databases.

 

Step 2 - Use Google Scholar, and if necessary, Google, to locate the article on the Web.  
If step 1 does not find the full-text of the article, go to Google Scholar and enter the article title to see whether the article is freely available on the Web.  If Google Scholar does not find it, try Google.

 

Step 3 - Use our Interlibrary Loan service to get the article from another library. 
If step 2 does not find the full-text of the article, submit an interlibrary loan request.

Connect with Your Librarians