Enter the TITLE of a journal, magazine, or newspaper in Journal Finder to determine whether this library has full-text access.
See the library's citation guide page for common citation style guides, paper formatting examples, and sample annotated bibiographies.
ProQuest
EBSCOhost
Search all EBSCOhost databases for scholarly and popular articles, or search databases individually:
JSTOR
Book Review Digest Plus: Access to book reviews on a wide range of topics from a variety of sources, including newspapers, review journals and popular magazines.
Bookbird: A journal of international children's literature.
Booklist: Provides a guide to current print and non-print materials worthy of consideration for purchase by small and medium-sized public libraries and school library media centers.
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books: A journal dedicated to reviewing some of the top children's books in the country.
Children's Literature: An annual publication of the Modern Language Association Division on Children's Literature.
Children's Literature Association Quarterly: A scholarly approach to the study of children's literature; it includes theoretical peer reviewed articles and book reviews.
Children's Literature in Education: Offers articles and interviews on noted children's authors, critiques of classic and contemporary writing for young readers, and more.
English Journal: A journal for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools from the National Council for Teachers of English, EJ examines the relationship of theory and research to classroom practice and reviews current materials of interest to English teachers, including books and electronic media.
Essays in Criticism: Covering the whole field of English literature from Chaucer to the present day, this journal contains critical essays, book reviews, and topical discussions on a wide range of literary topics.
Horn Book: Reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books from a variety of perspectives, and news of the children's book industry, including interviews of authors and illustrators.
Kirkus Reviews: Publishes reviews for fiction, mysteries, sci-fi, translations, nonfiction, & children's books.
Language Arts: A professional journal for elementary and middle school teachers from the National Council for Teachers of English, this journal includes discussions on all aspects of language arts learning and teaching, primarily as they relate to children in pre-kindergarten through the eighth grade, highlights current research, and reviews children's and young adolescent literature.
Lion and the Unicorn: A theme- and genre-centered journal of international scope committed to scholarly discussion of children's literature.
Looking Glass: New Perspectives on Children's Literature: An electronic journal about children's literature.
New York Times Book Review: Book reviews, essays, best seller lists, and news.
Publisher's Weekly: Current reviews of all types of books, including children's and young adult books. The traie journal of the publishing industry; it does not typically include critical reviews.
School Library Journal: The most complete provider of news, information, and reviews for librarians, media specialists, adn teachers who serve children and young adults in school and public libraries.
Writer’s Digest: The No. 1 resource for writers, celebrating the writing life and what it means to be a writer in today's publishing environment.
The library's licensed databases and e-journals are available to current students, faculty, and staff.
Off-campus access to these resources is provided through a proxy server. To access them from home or some other off-campus location:
1. Go to the library's web site.
2. Click the resource's link. An OBU login page will display.
3. Enter your OBU user name and password (same ones used to log in to OBU e-mail account). The system will connect to the resource.
4. To access another licensed resource, use the browser's back arrow to navigate to it. Click on the resource's link.
5. To end the proxy session, close your browser. Inactivity for two hours will also end the session.
If you have problems with off-campus access, make sure your browser software is up-to-date and able to accept cookies. Also, confirm that your network firewall settings allow access to the library’s web site.
For technical assistance, call IT Services at 870-245-5567 or send an e-mail to [email protected].
See Database Search Tips for effective search techniques.
Explore these tutorials to learn best practices for searching individual databases.
EBSCOhost
JSTOR
ProQuest
To get items not held at OBU or HSU, submit an Interlibrary Loan request.