Skip to main content

Christian Studies and Religion: Reference Tools

Access to Print Resources

Many of the following resources are in print format.  If you are an on-campus student, please come to the library to access them.  If you are a student at the OBU at New Life Church campus or in the Christian Studies online degree program, you may either come to the library to access them or complete a distance learning library request form so that we may scan and e-mail PDF copies of select portions to you. 

Handbooks

The library has the following resources available online or in print.  Click on a title for location, call number, and availability.


Baker Illustrated Bible Handbook (print)

Baker Illustrated Bible Handbook (online through Credo Reference)

Zondervan Handbook to the Bible


[Search the catalog for additional resources.]

Encyclopedias

The library has the following resources available in print.  Click on a title for location, call number, and availability.


Baker Encyclopedia of the Bible

International Standard Bible Encyclopedia

Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia


[Search the catalog for additional resources.]

Commentaries

The library has the following resources available in print.  Click on a title for location, call number, and availability.  This is a selection of the most frequently used items.  Search the catalog for additional titles.


General and Bible Backgrounds Commentaries


Commentary Series

Some series have not yet published volumes for every book of the Bible.  Click on a title to see if the library has the volume you need.  This is not an exhaustive list of all commentary series available.  If you are interested in a title not on this list, check our catalog to see if we have it. 

General Reference

Statistics

Connect with Your Librarians

Citation Guides

See the library's citation guide page for common citation style guides, paper formatting examples, and sample annotated bibiographies.