Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
See the library's citation guide page for common citation style guides, paper formatting examples, and sample annotated bibiographies.
Use Bankrate's currency converter to convert and compare the values of the world's currencies.
Connect with Your Librarians
News and Current Events
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Thousands of national and international newspapers, news websites, and blogs. Includes text-based access to recent issues of the New York Times, Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. (ProQuest)
Access World News
A wide range of local, state, national, and international newspapers and other news sources. Includes full-color digital access to recent issues of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, the state's largest newspaper. (NewsBank)
A broad variety of data on today’s most pressing social issues. For each topic, this database explores issues from multiple perspectives through pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, articles, multimedia, statistics, and much more. (Gale)
Investigative reports on globally significant events, issues, and people.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Background and analysis on leading issues, providing pros and cons on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global topics. (ProQuest)
Scholarly articles from general and subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
General and scholarly articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. Choose "EbscoHost Web" to access the databases. Search all databases on the platform, or select only those pertinent to your research. (EBSCOhost)
General and scholarly articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. Search all databases on the platform, or choose individual databases
based on your research needs. (ProQuest)
Archival access to scholarly journal articles. Choose "Advanced Search" and search the entire platform, or browse journals by subject
, or publisher
Search for books and much more at OBU, HSU, and libraries worldwide.
Country Profiles and Language Tools
A-Z World Culture
Extensive cultural and geographic information on the nations and territories of the world. Includes helpful language learning tools such as video language dictionaries showing native speakers pronouncing common words and phrases. (World Trade Press)
CIA World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for all countries and geographic entities.
Primary source material, cultural and statistical country reports, maps, and multimedia covering the world, United States and Canada. (ProQuest)
Self-paced learning program that teaches vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, and culture for over 70 languages. (Mango Languages)
The library's licensed databases and e-journals are available to current students, faculty, and staff.
Off-campus access to these resources is provided through a proxy server. To access them from home or some other off-campus location:
- Go to the library's web site or a LibGuide.
- Click on a database or e-journal resource. An OBU login page will display.
- Enter your OBU user name and password (ones used for OBU e-mail account). The system will connect to the resource.
- To access another licensed resource, use the browser's back arrow to navigate to it. Click on the resource's link.
- To end the proxy session, close your browser. Inactivity for two hours will also end the session.
If you have problems with off-campus access, make sure your browser software is up-to-date and able to accept cookies. Also, confirm that your network firewall settings allow access to the library’s web site.
For technical assistance, call IT Services at 870-245-5567 or send an e-mail to email@example.com.