LibGuides: CORE 1023: Contemporary World: Home

CONTEMPORARY WORLD

Map Tools

Seterra Geography Games
Over 400 free map quiz games on world geography. Use online or download the app.
Sheppard's Software Geography Games
Interactive map games for learning the world's continents, countries, capitals, and landscapes.
Purpose Games Map Practice
Interactive maps designed for enhancing geographic literacy. Enter "OBU" in the search box.
U.S. and World Population Clock
Interactive world map that provides population and economic information on each country.

Citation Help

See the library's citation guide page for common citation style guides, paper formatting examples, and sample annotated bibiographies.

Currency Conversion

Use Bankrate's currency converter to convert and compare the values of the world's currencies.

Connect with Your Librarians

News and Current Events

ProQuest News and Newspapers
Thousands of national and international newspapers, news websites, and blogs. Includes text-based access to recent issues of the New York Times, Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. (ProQuest)
Access World News
A wide range of local, state, national, and international newspapers and other news sources. Includes full-color digital access to recent issues of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, the state's largest newspaper. (NewsBank)

BBC World News
International news and information from the British Broadcasting Corporation.
News Video Libraries
Major network video archives: ABC | CBS | CNN | C-Span | Fox News | NBC | PBS News Hour

Opposing Viewpoints
A broad variety of data on today’s most pressing social issues. For each topic, this database explores issues from multiple perspectives through pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, articles, multimedia, statistics, and much more. (Gale)

PBS Frontline
Investigative reports on globally significant events, issues, and people.

SIRS Issues Researcher
Background and analysis on leading issues, providing pros and cons on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global topics. (ProQuest)

Articles

Credo Reference
Scholarly articles from general and subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
EbscoHost Databases
General and scholarly articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. Choose "EbscoHost Web" to access the databases. Search all databases on the platform, or select only those pertinent to your research. (EBSCOhost)
ProQuest Databases
General and scholarly articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. Search all databases on the platform, or choose individual databases based on your research needs. (ProQuest)
JSTOR
Archival access to scholarly journal articles. Choose "Advanced Search" and search the entire platform, or browse journals by subject, title, or publisher. (ITHAKA)

Books

Library Catalog
Search for books and much more at OBU, HSU, and libraries worldwide.

Off-Campus Access

Current Ouachita students, faculty, and staff may access the library's licensed databases and e-journals on and off campus.

To access licensed databases and e-journal resources remotely:

Go to the library's web site or a LibGuide.
Click on a licensed database or e-journal resource. An login page will display.
Enter your OBU email address and password. The system will connect to the resource.

To access another licensed database or e-journal resource:

Click your browser's back arrow to navigate to the resource.
Click on the resource's link.

To end a remote session:

Close your browser.

If you experience issues with remote access:

Make sure your browser software is up-to-date and able to accept cookies.
Confirm that your network firewall settings allow access to the library’s web site.
Call IT Services at 870-245-5567 or send an e-mail to [email protected].

Country Profiles and Language Tools

A to Z World Culture
Extensive cultural and geographic information on the nations and territories of the world. Includes helpful language learning tools such as video language dictionaries showing native speakers pronouncing common words and phrases. (World Trade Press)

CIA World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for all countries and geographic entities.

Culture Grams
Primary source material, cultural and statistical country reports, maps, and multimedia covering the world, United States and Canada. (ProQuest)
Mango Languages
Self-paced learning program that teaches vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, and culture for over 70 languages. (Mango Languages)

Global Connections

Find in-depth foreign policy analysis and information at the Council on Foreign Relations.

Michigan State University's Global Edge provides a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.

The Library of Congress's International Organizations page provides a list of intergovernmental organizations, European Union entities, and United Nations agencies.

See United Nations Online Data Repositories and Resources for a list of UN data repositories, initiatives, and data-related websites.

Search USA.gov to find a wide range of information published by U.S. government entities and other organizations.

The U.S. Department of State website includes a wide range of information on global issues, policies, and initiatives.

Learn about the World Trade Organization and the rules of trade it administers among nations.