Collaborative Presentation
In small groups, students will research and present on topics related to post-war Reconstruction of the South. Possible topics are presidential Reconstruction, civil rights, African American suffrage, and impeachment.
Developed around a central argument, presentations must be substantive, citing material from numerous primary sources and at least two secondary sources not assigned for class discussion. When analyzing sources, groups may want to consider what historians have said about the topic, recount what actors of the time period said about the institution, and/or explain how interpretations of historians have changed over time. These sources should be cited at the end of the presentation.
Utilizing appropriate media and technology, presentations should be clear, cohesive, well-delivered, and engaging. Each group's presentation should be 15-20 minutes.
Primary sources are first-hand accounts of something -- original diaries, personal journals, letters, speeches, government and legal documents, artworks, literary works, musical scores, and research notes.
Secondary sources are interpretations of primary information -- articles, books, commentaries, critiques, evaluations, and reviews written about events, people, and historical periods.
See the library's citation guide page for common citation style guides, paper formatting examples, and sample annotated bibiographies.
Journals and Magazines
Newspapers
Credo Reference
Search all of Credo Reference or individual encyclopedias within the database:
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Encyclopedia of American Studies
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
Notable American Women: 1607 - 1950
Reader's Companion to American History
Reader's Companion to Women's History
Slavery in the United States: A Social, Political, and Historical Encyclopedia
State Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture
